About the State Historical Society > News > 2009

State Historical Society of Iowa Press Release

For immediate release April 27, 2009

Contact: Jeff Morgan, Jeff.Morgan@iowa.gov, (515) 281-3858

29 Iowa students earn trip to National History Day national finals

(DES MOINES) – Twenty-nine Iowa students who competed in the National History Day in Iowa contest today earned a trip to the NHD National Contest in June at the University of Maryland.

The 29 students competed against about 325 other Iowa students in grades 9-12 in the NHD in Iowa senior division contest Monday at the State Historical Building in Des Moines. About 400 Iowa students in grades 6-8 will compete in the NHD in Iowa junior division contest Monday, May 4, 2009, also at the State Historical Building.

National History Day is an academic-enrichment program that helps students learn about historical issues, ideas, people and events. The year-long academic adventure fosters students’ enthusiasm for learning and encourages them to use primary, secondary, community and statewide resources on a subject of their choice related to an annual theme. The theme for 2009 is “The Individual in History: Actions and Legacies.

“Nearly every year, we have more than 3,500 students competing in district competitions, with about 700 of them moving on to Des Moines for the state senior and junior division contests,” Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs Director Cyndi Pederson said. “From that pool, 50 to 55 are selected to attend the national event in June at the University of Maryland.”

Working individually or collaboratively in groups of two to five, students compete in a variety of categories, including papers, Web sites, and individual and group exhibits, documentaries, and performances. Students in grades 9-12 compete in the senior division while students in grades 6-8 compete in the junior division. Students in grades 4-5 may participate in the noncompetitive Iowa Youth Division.

Last year, three Iowa students won their respective categories and 25 others earned honors at the national competition.

NHD in Iowa program has been coordinated by the State Historical Society of Iowa since 1994 and is sponsored by the State Historical Society of Iowa, State Historical Society, Inc., Obermann-Beck Foundation, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Alexander Clark House Foundation and the Polk County Historical Society. More information about NHD in Iowa is available at www.iowahistory.org or by contacting Millie Frese at 515-281-6860 or millie.frese@iowa.gov.

Following are the NHD in IowaSenior Division winners announced today:

(Title of Project)
(City, State)

Historical Paper
George Washington Carver: Taking Action to Raise the Man Farthest Down; Leaving a Legacy for Us All
Jeanne Rust
LeMars Community Schools
LeMars, Iowa

 Ann Abney
“I have nothing to declare by my genius.” The Legacy of Oscar Wilde
Chris Green
North Scott High School
Eldridge, Iowa

Individual Performance
Katherine Schulz
Ida Tarbell: Muckraker-Trustbuster
Roberta Moore, Susan Schulz
Home School
Storm Lake, Iowa

Aaron Viner
Andrew Hamilton: The Original Philadelphia Lawyer
Chris Green
North Scott High School
Eldridge, Iowa

Group Performance
Clare Boerigter, Megan Cotter, Daniel Meyers, Indigo Scott
How to Write a Play About Someone Who Writes Plays
Sarah Cooper
Waverly-Shell Rock
Waverly, Iowa

Emily Aronson, Karl Baresel
Jay Norwood “Ding” Darling: From Cartoons to Conservation
Dan Flaherty, Gail Heninger
Davenport Central High School
Davenport, Iowa

Web Site
Alex Crichton, Minh Tam Le
Woodrow Wilson and the League of Nations
Harvey Kimble
Central Academy
Des Moines, Iowa
Alex Kramer, Honda Wang

Ayn Rand: An Individual(ist) in History
Todd Hornaday
Bettendorf High School
Bettendorf, Iowa

Individuals Documentary
Kristine Davis
Medical Maverick: One Man’s Quest to Cure Mental Illness
Roberta Moore
Storm Lake High School
Storm Lake, Iowa

Sean Lovellette
Blood and Guts: Upton Sinclair Carves His Legacy in The Jungle
Chris Green
North Scott High School
Eldridge, Iowa

Group Documentary
Tyler Cahill, Maria Chickering, Matt Pacha, Nolan Swanson
Dr. Norman Borlaugh’s Actions Leading to a Lasting Legacy
Chris Green
North Scott High School
Eldridge, Iowa

Helen Lagerblade, Taylor Mithelman
Margaret Bourke-White: Picturing a Legacy for Women
Kathy Paul
Johnston Middle School
Johnston, Iowa

Individual Exhibit
Kayla Kaasa
Understanding More, Fearing Less: Marie Curie’s Radium Legacy
Chris Green
North Scott High School
Eldridge, Iowa

Kirstin Marriott
Ho Chi Minh: Revolutionary Actions Leave a Lasting Legacy
Chris Green
North Scott High School
Eldridge, Iowa

Group Exhibit
Grant McDonald, Chase Wallace
The Red Baron Legendary World War I Fighter Pilot
Kathy Paul
Johnston Middle School
Johnston, Iowa

Melissa Hassman, Holly Hassman, Katie Woltjer
Harriet Beecher Stowe: Leaving a Literary Legacy
Susan Fritzell
Marshalltown High School
Marshalltown, Iowa

North Scott High School of Eldridge received recognition as school of the year. Johnston Middle School of Johnston took second place and Central Academy of Des Moines followed in third place. Suzanne Turner of Nashua-Plainfield High School was named the National History Day in Iowa Teacher of the Year.

The Obermann-Beck Foundation generously sponsors one senior division scholarship in the amount of $1,000 to be used towards any area of study at any school in Iowa. The NHD in Iowa 2009 Obermann-Beck Outstanding Young Historian Scholarship was awarded to Kristine J. Davis of Storm Lake.


The State Historical Society of Iowa is a division of the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, and is a trustee of Iowa's historical legacy and an advocate for understanding Iowa's past. It identifies, records, collects, preserves, manages and provides access to Iowa's historical resources. Its dual mission of preservation and education serves Iowans of all ages, conducts and stimulates research, disseminates information, and encourages and supports historical preservation and education efforts of others throughout the state. Visit www.iowahistory.org or call 515-281-5111 for more information.


©2013 The State of Iowa, All Rights Reserved | Policies | Accessibility | Non-discrimination and Accommodation | Website Feedback