About the State Historical Society > News > 2010

State Historical Society of Iowa Press Release

For immediate release June 3, 2010

Contact: Jeff Morgan, Jeff.Morgan@iowa.gov, (515) 281-3858

SHSI announces historic preservation, community history awards

Historic preservationists, historians conclude National Historic Preservation Month

(DES MOINES) – The State Historical Society of Iowa recognized National Historic Preservation Month in May by announcing numerous historic preservation and community history awards and certificates.

The awards and certificates recognize historians, historic preservationists and other individuals and groups for their work in 2009 to preserve Iowa’s rich heritage.

“These awards and certificates are recognition of the efforts undertaken last year to preserve our historic assets,” Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs Director Cyndi Pederson said. “We are grateful for the time and hard work these people have devoted to ensure our heritage is kept alive for future generations of Iowans to enjoy.”

Following is the list of awards and certificates issued in May by the SHSI Board of Trustees:

These awards recognize historic preservation projects that exemplify the best of preservation practices, meet the U.S. Secretary of the Interior’s “Standards for Rehabilitation of Historic Buildings,” and use the State Historic Preservation and Cultural and Entertainment District Tax Credit Program.

  • Judith A. McClure Award
    This award recognizes outstanding preservation of a residential property.
    John & Susanne Sterneman House (Edgecliffe), Muscatine
  • Adrian D. Anderson Award
    This award recognizes outstanding preservation of a small historic preservation project (e.g., a project with qualified rehabilitation costs of $500,000 or less).
    Seth Richards Commercial Block, Des Moines
  • Margaret Keyes Award
    This award recognizes outstanding preservation of a large historic preservation project.
    Fowler Company Building, Waterloo
  • William J. Wagner Award
    This award recognizes the historic preservation project that best exemplified the use of the U.S. Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation of Historic Buildings.
    John T. and Marietta Carey House, Denison

This award recognizes the author of the most significant article on an Iowa history topic published in a popular history periodical during previous calendar years. It is named in honor of Iowa reporter and popular historian George Mills and Iowa historian and philanthropist Louise Noun.

  • Award Recipient
    “Disciplined Freedom: The Life and Art of Father Edward Catich,” by Andrew Harvey (Iowa Heritage Illustrated)

This award recognizes the most significant book published on Iowa history during the previous calendar year.

  • Award Recipient
    Leslie Schwalm
    “Emancipation Diaspora: Race and Reconstruction in the Midwest”
    (Chapel Hill: The University of North Carolina Press, 2009)
  • Honorable mention
    Joseph L. Anderson
    “Industrializing the Corn Belt: Agriculture, Technology and Environment, 1945-1972”
    (DeKalb: Northern Illinois University Press)
  • Honorable mention
    David S. Faldet
    “Oneota Flow: The Upper Iowa River and Its People
    (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press)”

The Loren Horton Community History Award recognizes the best project that increases the awareness of and participation in Iowa history on a local level.

  • Award Recipient
    Mary Jones, “Camp Dodge”
    (Arcadia Publishing) 

Jointly administered by the National Park Service in partnership with the State Historic Preservation Office, the Certified Local Government Program is a model and a cost-effective local, state and federal partnership that promotes historic preservation at the grassroots level across the nation.

    Award Recipients
    Chariton: National Register Nomination of the Crozier House
    Charles City: Intensive Survey of the Sherman Nursery
    Davenport: Credit Island Geomorphological/Archaeological Survey and National Register Nomination
    Decorah: National Register Nomination of the Decorah Municipal Pool Building
    Des Moines: Reconnaissance-Level Historical and Architectural Survey of the Drake Neighborhood
    Jones County: Survey and Evaluation of Wapsipinicon State Park
    Lake City: Planning for Preservation Project
    Linn County: Reconnaissance Survey of Subsections I and M in Linn County
    Osceola: Planning for Preservation Project
    Ottumwa: National Register Nomination of the Historic Railroad District
    Red Oak: 2010 Statewide Historic Preservation Conference

Cedar Rapids: Grant Wood Cultural District

In addition, Preservation Iowa recently announced its annual Preservation at Its Best Awards to honor individuals, organizations, projects, and programs whose work demonstrates a commitment to excellence in historic preservation.

The awards were presented as part of a historic preservation workshop co-sponsored by Preservation Iowa, the State Historical Society of Iowa, the Clinton Historic Preservation Commission and the Clinton County Historical Society.

Ten awards were presented in seven categories. Awards presented included:

    Project: Step by Step, Dubuque Recipient: Step by Step, Inc./Portzen Construction

    Small Commercial
    Project: The Eatery, Bedford Recipient: Shirley Winemiller

    Large Commercial
    Project: Nonpareil Building, Council Bluffs Recipient: J Development Company
    Project: Hotel Julien, Dubuque Recipient: Fischer Companies, Tony Pfohl

    Adaptive Reuse
    Grant/Lincoln Elementary Schools, Oskaloosa Recipient: Community Housing Initiatives, Inc.
    Williges Building, Sioux City Recipient: VTEBBR Law Firm/Bart Connelly

    Community Effort
    Friends of Jipp, Davenport Recipient: Gateway Redevelopment Group
    Historic Millwork District Master Plan, Dubuque Recipient: City of Dubuque

    Rural Preservation
    Khrushchev in Iowa 50th Anniversary Commemoration, Coon Rapids Recipient: Creating Great Places

    Preservationist (honoring an individual or group that has championed historic preservation planning, policy or activities.)
    Iowa’s Advisors to the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Sam Erickson, Des Moines, and Dan Tindall, Grinnell


The State Historical Society of Iowa is a division of the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, and is a trustee of Iowa's historical legacy and an advocate for understanding Iowa's past. It identifies, records, collects, preserves, manages and provides access to Iowa's historical resources. Its dual mission of preservation and education serves Iowans of all ages, conducts and stimulates research, disseminates information, and encourages and supports historical preservation and education efforts of others throughout the state. Visit www.iowahistory.org or call 515-281-5111 for more information.


©2013 The State of Iowa, All Rights Reserved | Policies | Accessibility | Non-discrimination and Accommodation | Website Feedback