About the State Historical Society > News > 2011

State Historical Society of Iowa Press Release

For immediate release December 1, 2011

Contact: Jeff Morgan, Jeff.Morgan@iowa.gov, (515) 281-3858

Norman Borlaug Committee issues call for artists

Borlaug statue to be placed in U.S. Capitol's National Statuary Hall

DES MOINES – The Dr. Norman E. Borlaug Statue Committee today announced it has issued a Request for Proposals to artists interested in designing, fabricating and delivering a statue of Borlaug to the U.S. Capitol Building’s National Statuary Hall in Washington, D.C.

“The committee looks forward to receiving artist proposals and working through the selection process,” said Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, who chairs the Borlaug Statue Committee. “We encourage artists from around the world to submit proposals to reflect the global impact of Dr. Borlaug’s life and career.”

Borlaug’s work in plant breeding led to unprecedented increases in food production and helped avert famine around the world. His success is believed to have saved up to a billion people from starvation. Borlaug was the recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize, a Presidential Medal of Freedom and the Congressional Gold Medal.

The Borlaug Committee was established in March 2011 when the state legislature passed and Gov. Terry Branstad signed House Joint Resolution 16, which provided for the creation and placement of a statue of Borlaug in the U.S. Capitol Building as one of two statues of notable Iowa citizens. The Borlaug statue will replace a statue of Sen. James Harlan. The other statue is of Gov. Samuel Kirkwood.

The Borlaug Committee’s RFP timeline follows:

Proposal Period: Proposals will be accepted through Jan. 20, 2012.
Finalists’ Notification: Finalists will be notified in February 2012 and invited to travel to Des Moines at their own expense to be interviewed by the committee during the first week of March 2012.
Commission Awarded: The artist selection will be announced in Des Moines in March 2012.
Period of Design and Fabrication: The statue of Borlaug must be designed, fabricated and delivered to the location specified by the Architect of the U.S. Capitol no later than March 1, 2014.

The committee will accept proposals through Jan. 20, 2012. Official proposals should be sent to Jerome Thompson, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, 600 E. Locust Street, Des Moines, Iowa, 50319. Artists are encouraged to send parallel RFP proposals to jerome.thompson@iowa.gov. DCA is responsible for providing administrative support to the Borlaug Committee. The RFP will be available through the Iowa Department of Administrative Services at http://bidopportunities.iowa.gov/.

The Dr. Norman E. Borlaug Statue Committee includes the following members:

• Patty Cownie, Community Volunteer, Des Moines
• Jerry Crawford, Attorney, Crawford and Quilty Law Firm, Des Moines
• Teri Goodmann, Assistant City Manager, City of Dubuque, Dubuque
• Kenneth Quinn, President, World Food Prize, Des Moines (Chair)
• Dyan Smith, Cedar Rapids, Community Volunteer, Cedar Rapids
• Joanne Stockdale, President, Northern Iowa Diecasting, Spirit Lake
• John H. “Jack” Thomson, Chairman and CEO, Cresco Union Savings Bank, Cresco


Committee administered by Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs
600 E. Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, 515.281.5111

Call For Artists Borlaug Final
House Joint Resolution 16
Norman Borlaug Statue Commission
Borlaug Statue Committee RFP press release
Statue Replacement Guidelines

©2013 The State of Iowa, All Rights Reserved | Policies | Accessibility | Non-discrimination and Accommodation | Website Feedback