SHSI announces historic preservation, community history awards

For immediate release May 21, 2007


Contact: Jeff Morgan,, (515) 281-3858

(DES MOINES) – The State Historical Society today announced historic preservation and community history awards during “Celebrate Community History,” an event that celebrates May as National Historic Preservation Month.

Historians, historic preservationists and others gathered for the event, which was created in 1995 with the 10-year anniversary of the Certified Local Government Program. Today’s event recognized Iowa’s varied and important historic properties listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2006, and groups and individuals for their work in preserving Iowa’s rich heritage.

“This event is a celebration of our historic assets and efforts undertaken during the last year to preserve them,” said Cyndi Pederson, director of the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs. “We are pleased to recognize the projects and the people who devote their time, energy and resources to ensure our heritage is kept alive for future generations of Iowans to enjoy.”

Awards and certificates presented today included National Register of Historic Places Certificates; Projects of Merit; Certified Local Government Awards of Grant Funds: Iowa Historic Preservation Alliance’s Best of Preservation Awards; Barn Again! Award; National History Day in Iowa “Kids Count!” Award; Shambaugh Awards; Loren Horton Community History Awards: Petersen/Harlan Award.

Celebrate Community History is sponsored by SHSI, the Iowa Historic Preservation Alliance and the Iowa Gaming Association.

The State Historical Society of Iowa is a division of the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs and a trustee of Iowa’s historical legacy and an advocate for understanding Iowa’s past. It identifies, records, collects, preserves, manages and provides access to Iowa’s historical resources. Its dual mission of preservation and education serves Iowans of all ages, conducts and stimulates research, disseminates information, and encourages and supports historical preservation and education efforts of others throughout the state. More information about SHSI is available at

Following is a list of awards and certificate recipients recognized today:

The National Register of Historic Places is the nation’s official list of cultural resources worthy of preservation. Properties listed on the National Register include districts, sites, buildings, structures and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archaeology, engineering and culture.

Certificate Recipients
  • American Legion Memorial Building, Atlantic

  • American Legion Hall, Chariton

  • Chariton City Hall & Fire Station, Chariton

  • Chariton Herald-Patriot Building, Chariton

  • Chariton Masonic Temple, Chariton

  • Hotel Charitone, Chariton

  • Ankeny Building, Clinton

  • Moeszinger-Marquis Hardware Company, Clinton

  • Taft-West Warehouse, Des Moines

  • Dubuque Casket Company, Dubuque

  • The Security Building, Dubuque

  • Ely School House, Ely

  • Walter A. Sheaffer House, Fort Madison

  • Coal Ridge Baptist Church & Cemetery, Knoxville

  • Rev. George B. Hitchcock House, Lewis

  • The Maquoketa Company-Clinton Machine Company Administration
  • Building, Maquoketa

  • Terrace Park Historic District, Marion

  • Downtown Commercial Historic District, Muscatine

  • Northwood Central Avenue Historic District, Northwood

  • George H. & Alice (Spaulding) Cowles Residence, Osceola

  • Red Oak Firehouse and City Jail, Red Oak

  • Municipal Auditorium, Sioux City

  • Swedish Evangelical Lutheran Augustana Church, Sioux City

This award recognizes outstanding projects that exemplify the best of preservation practices and that meet the Secretary of Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation of Historic Buildings.

Award Recipients

  • Small Project Under $500,000
    E. Rohde & Sons Building, State Center
  • Large Project Over $500,000
    Welch Apartments (Scott House), Muscatine
  • Residential Property
    William Worth Belknap House, Keokuk
  • Special Recognition
    Englert Theatre, Iowa City

Jointly administered by the National Park Service in partnership with the State Historic Preservation Office, the Certified Local Government Program is a model and a cost-effective local, state and federal partnership that promotes historic preservation at the grassroots level across the nation.

2006 Award Recipients

  • Adel Public Square, Adel

  • Phase I Four Mounds Archaeological Investigation, Dubuque

  • Reconnaissance Level Survey of East Half of Salem Township, Henry County

  • Stone City Historic District Nomination, Jones County

  • Anamosa Downtown Historic District Nomination, Jones County

  • Foster Park Historic District Nomination, Le Mars

  • Phase II Testing of Archaeological Sites, Linn County

  • Northwood Historic Central Ave. Walking Tour & Brochure, Northwood

This award recognizes outstanding historic preservation projects in a wide range of categories. The awards, given annually, recognize projects that demonstrate a commitment to maintaining and preserving Iowa’s cultural heritage.

Award Recipients

  • Residential – Small Building

  • 2052-2056 Washington St., Dubuque
  • Residential – Large Building

  • Hotel Iowa, Keokuk
  • Public Building

  • Hibernia Hall (St. Patrick’s), Burlington
    Honorable Mention: West 11th St. Elevator Park, Dubuque
  • Commercial – Small Building

  • Don’s Amoco Annex, Central City
  • Commercial – Large Building

  • Black Hawk Hotel, Cedar Falls
  • Special Project

  • Shot Tower Calendar, Dubuque

This award is presented by the National Trust for Historic Preservation and Successful Farming magazine and is given to barn owners who put forth exceptional efforts to preserve and maintain historic barns.

Award Recipient

  • Faeth Farms, Fort Madison
    Owners: Lynne & Heather Faeth and Loren and Arlene Faeth

The “Kids Count!” awards recognize Iowa libraries, archives and museums for providing outstanding service to young student researchers.

  • Certificate of Merit Recipients
    John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum, Boston, Massachusetts
    Eddyville Public Library, Eddyville
  • Certificate of Achievement Recipient
    Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum, West Branch

This award recognizes the most significant book published on Iowa history during the previous calendar year.

Award Recipient

  • Kerry A. Trask
    Black Hawk: The Battle for the Heart of America, published by Henry Holt and Company

Certificate of Recognition

  • George McDaniel
    A Great and Lasting Beginning: The First 125 Years of St. Ambrose University, published by St. Ambrose University

The Loren Horton Community History Award recognizes the best project that increases the awareness of and participation in Iowa history on a local level.

  • Loren Horton Community History Award
    Central Alternative High, Dubuque – Shot Tower Calendar
  • Certificate of Recognition Recipients
    Outstanding Research or Publication
    James E. Jacobs, Iowa National Guard 1839-1955
  • Outstanding Use of Volunteers
    Blenco Community, St. Bernard Church Restoration
  • Outstanding Program or Event
    Belmond Historical Society, Sesquicentennial Book

The Petersen/Harlan Award recognizes an individual, group or organization that has made significant long-term or continuing contributions to Iowa history.

  • Richard H. Thomas, Mount Vernon, Iowa


Return to What's New Section



shsi homepage report technical problems


Privacy Statement Copyright and Disclaimer Notice Read about the State of Iowa Network Contact the State of Iowa Network Search the State of Iowa Network Go to the State of Iowa Network Help Desk Go to the State of Iowa Network News Go to the State of Iowa Home Page