Education & Outreach

Disaster Resources

Technical and Financial Resources for Disaster Response

Below are links to useful technical information, web sites and information about available grants (grants info is forthcoming).

Technical Assistance

View of Flood of 2008, Des Moines
Flood of 2008, Des Moines

Treatment of Flood-Damaged Older and Historic Buildings
Download the PDF for free from the Preservation Books web site: http://www.preservationbooks.org/Bookstore.asp?Item=1107.

acrobat_logo Working with Contractors and Architects - National Trust Resource Center Information Sheet #32 (PDF)

Salvage Operations for Water Damaged Collections

Emergency: If You’re First - (a four-page guide to disaster response and recovery)

acrobat_logoSalvage of Water-Damaged Collections: Salvage At A Glance (PDF) - Conserve O Gram is a publication of the National Park Service.

National Flood Insurance Program Floodplain Management Bulletin on Historic Structures (May 2008)

Technical Assistance from the National Trust for Historic Preservation

Resources for Returning Homeowners

Technical Assistance from Preservation Iowa

acrobat_logoSave Your Treasures (PDF) A publication of Heritage Emergency National Task Force www.heritageemergency.org

 

American Institute for Conservation--Collections Emergency Response Team (AIC-CERT)

The American Institute for Conservation (AIC) is offering free emergency response assistance to cultural organizations. Please help make sure that staff members of collecting institutions know to contact AIC-CERT when a disaster--hurricane, flooding, earthquake, fire--has damaged collections.

Call AIC's 24-hour assistance number at 202.661.8068 for advice by phone.

Call 202.661.8068 to arrange for a team to come to the site to complete damage assessments and help with salvage organization.

While on site and as funds last, AIC-CERT members will develop a list of re-housing supplies needed at the site, as well as have them ordered and delivered--at no cost to the institution. In 2007, AIC received funding from the Institute of Museum & Library Services to support an advanced training program for conservators and other museum professionals that resulted in a force of 60 rapid responders trained to assess damage and initiate salvage of cultural collections after a disaster has occurred. They are ready to assist.

SHSI Contacts for technical assistance

View of Flood of 2008, Des Moines
Flood of 2008, Des Moines

Archaeology
Doug Jones, doug.jones@iowa.gov, (515) 281-4358
Dan Higginbottom, daniel.higginbottom@iowa.gov; (515) 281-8744

Cemeteries
Dan Higginbottom, daniel.higginbottom@iowa.gov, (515) 281-8744

Burials Older than 150 Years
Shirley Schermer, shirley-schermer@uiowa.edu, (319) 384-0740

Standing Structures
Jack Porter, jack.porter@iowa.gov, (515) 242-6152
Paula Mohr, paula.mohr@iowa.gov, (515) ­281-6826
Ralph Christian, Ralph.christian@iowa.gov, (515) 281-8697

State Historical Society of Iowa Grants
Kristen Vander Molen, kristen.vandermolen@iowa.gov, (515) 281-4228

Museum Collections
Jerome Thompson, Jerome.thompson@iowa.gov, (515) 281-4221
Pete Sixbey, pete.sixbey@iowa.gov, (515) 281-4648

Local Records
Delpha Musgrave, Delpha.musgrave@iowa.gov, (515) 281-5655

Manuscripts and other paper records
Jeffrey Dawson, jeffrey.dawson@iowa.gov, (515) 281-7801

Photographs
Becki Plunkett, becki.plunkett@iowa.gov, (515) 281-8976

Web sites for additional technical assistance

View of Flood of 2008, Des Moines
Flood of 2008, Des Moines

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation

American Institute for Conservation

American Institute of Architects, Iowa Chapter

Conserve O Grams

Association of Iowa Archaeologists

Conservation Online, Disaster Preparedness and Response

Historic Preservation Consultants Working in Iowa

Iowa Archeological Society

Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Iowa Museum Association

Iowa Conservation and Preservation Consortium

Main Street Iowa

Midwest Office of the National Trust for Historic Preservation

National Center for Preservation Technology and Training

National Park Service

National Park Service Publications

National Register of Historic Places and the National Register Information System database

National Trust for Historic Preservation

Northeast Document Conservation Center

Office of the State Archaeologist

Preservation Iowa

PreserveNet

State Association for the Preservation of Iowa Cemeteries

State Historical Society of Iowa (SHSI) grants

Disaster Recovery Vendors

View of Flood of 2008, Des Moines
Flood of 2008, Des Moines

The State Historical Society of Iowa does not recommend specific vendors and the following does not represent a comprehensive list.  The names below simply represent companies that various historical repositories have dealt with successfully.

BMS Cat; www.bmscat.com

Document Reprocessors; www.documentreprocessors.com

Freezedry Specialties, Inc.; www.freezedry.com

Midwest Freeze-Dry Ltd.; www.midwestfreezedryltd.com

©2013 The State of Iowa, All Rights Reserved | Policies | Accessibility | Non-discrimination and Accommodation | Website Feedback